March 4, 2011 – Vacation Days 2-3 – Accepting with Joy and Gratitude

March 4, 2011

March 4, 2011 – Vacation Days 2-3 – Accepting with Joy and Gratitude

My First Completely Round Parantha!!

I now sit outdoors on my rooftop, grey dreary chill surrounds me but inside is a feeling of joy and contentment.  I am listening to lovely music, always chosen by my mood and inner need, and I find te chill invigorating and cleansing.

I have promised myself to accept with joy and gratitude whatever these last days hold for me, and that is exactly what I am doing.

I have just finished a breakfast ordered from room service, simply because I felt like it!  I had planned to prepare fried eggs and toast for myself, but began thinking of the cooking, and especially the cleaning up, and went downstairs and ordered a breakfast that someone else would serve me and clean up from afterwards!  What are vacations for anyway?

Yesterday, I was invited out to my friend Seema’s house for breakfast of aloo (potato) parantha (and to my surprise received also methi (fenugreek) parantha.

Aloo Parantha with Curd and Chutney

I arrived in her kitchen to find her happily waiting my arrival,

Seema Welcoming Me into her Kitchen

and just for fun, I asked to roll my own parantha.  And to my great surprise, (I make parantha all the time at home as well), I managed to roll out my first completely round parantha!!! (As seen in the top photo)

Seema says it is her rolling pin that makes the difference,

Seema's rolling pin

I think perhaps it is also the density of the flour which is different –

Stuffing the Parantha Dough

don’t know-but it was nice to know it IS possible to do.  I will go out and buy a similar rolling pin just to check it out when I gethome, and will try using stone ground flour as well (which is what she uses).

At any rate, I had a lovely breakfast, in lovely company and then went  down to Manju for my special gift massage, and was definitely not disappointed.

Came back to my room, and made myself a pleasant lunch of pasta with tomato, onion, garlic fried in ghee.  Yummy!!

And then, found myself needing to sleep.  Found myself waking up a full 2 hours later!  Had a glass of masala chai and really good fresh apple pie, and then did some computer work downloading new dances I hope to be able to learn before returning home. (But then again, this is something that I feel I HAVE to do, not WANT to do, so might just forget about it).

I then packed away a good amount of clothing which I am no longer wearing and which I leave here from year to year.  This is the first thing I have done which emphasizes the reality that I am leaving soon!  But it was also reassuring, knowing that I am leaving my things here means I will be back!

And then decided to watch a movie before going to sleep.  I actually watched “The African Queen” with Humphrey Boghart and Katherine Hepburn, made in 1951!  Although much of it was really “corny”, I enjoyed every minute of the film more than I thought I would.  Times and attitudes have so changed in the past 1/ 2 century – and watching a movie made 50 years ago is a clear indication of where the world has come from, and where it has arrived. Question being, are changes always for the best?

Went to sleep quite late, had vivid dreams which I have been experiencing since beginning panchakarma, and woke refreshed and at peace.

I have been invited for lunch by a lovely young woman, my next door neighbor this month, who I have been talking to since she arrived.  It is really sweet of her and will be a nice diversion on this dreary day.

And that’s about it.

 


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 414 other followers

