Nov. 18-19, 2008 – Panchakarma – Day 26-27 – New Energy Levels – Newfound Freedom and New Insights

Nov. 18-19, 2008 – Panchakarma – Day 26-27 – New Energy Levels – Newfound Freedom and New Insights

The past two days have been like a rebirth, or like coming out of hibernation. For the entire past month, except for the two days at the beginning when I went for the motorbike rides, I have been going to my treatments in morning and then pretty much staying close to my room. A few times I went out for supper to a nearby restaurant, Tulsi, but other than that, I stayed put.

Yesterday, feeling completely energized after my massage, parantha, kicheri, ear and nose cleansing, I came back to my room, showered, changed clothes, and went out for a lovely walk. (If you want to get an impression of the area I walked around in, or at least a small part of it, check out the “video” tab above and look for the video about lakshman jhula.) Yesterday I exchanged 6 books I had finished reading for a couple of new (used) ones at the bookshop near the Lashman Jhula bridge, had a fruit salad sitting overlooking the Ganga, and then slowly walked back up to “house”, and joined a private yoga lesson. My friend einat just got certified as a yoga instructor and she is practicing. Then had dinner and spent the evening with this lovely Canadian girl, Sara, who to Rishikesh for 3 days and has been here for almost 10 already. She copy movies off my computer, we talked, watched some stand-up comedy and just had a good time. Then einat came in and we did some Tarot reading, more talking, and finally they both left. Then my friend from Delhi that I stayed with, called ( at midnight) to ask me to save her two rooms for her, and two friends who were visiting from Canada. They were coming to Rishikesh just for the day. I fell asleep after one and woke up bright and early to meet them when they arrived at 9 AM. Great seeing her again, even for a few minutes before I headed off for my treatment.

Today I had a massage and sirodhara (oil on the forehead). If you remember, the first time I did this it was very difficult for me. I was restless to the point of feeling trapped and claustrophobic, and the next two times, following the doc’s instructions, got easier. This last time was so lovely, I simply
Today I had a massage and sirodhara (oil on the forehead). If you remember, the first time I did this it was very difficult for me. I was restless to the point of feeling trapped and claustrophobic, and the next two times, following the doc’s instructions, got easier. This last time was so lovely, I simply fell asleep and was surprised when the 45 minutes were up. I showered, ate and had my nose and ear drops and then went home to “freshen up”. Spent the entire day out again, window shopping, meeting old friends “by chance” and new people along the way, when I stopped to eat and relax overlooking the Ganga. These are the “freedoms” I’ve been missing the past month, and they seem like trivial things but are part of the pleasures of being here. Met a lovely Israeli couple, older, traveling for 3 weeks with a driver, who I met. He seemed extremely pleasant, and I asked, if I wanted to “do” Rajasthan in January, if he could take me. He was very happy and says he charges 200 rupees a day and I choose my hotels along the way. So this could be a good option for me if it gets too cold here. I was thinking of Rajasthan, and there you really do need a driver to get around comfortably. We’ll see what happens, but I now have an option. No meeting is ever by chance.

I was going to write the story of Hari’s girlfriend who had everything stolen from her off the train in Haridwar, but think I will leave that for tomorrow, when I will also post some pics of the clinic and the lovely people who took such good care of me there for a month.

Tomorrow, after my last treatment, Devi is taking me home with her, will do henna painting on my hands to celebrate and make me a lunch. Sounds good to me. I have also been invited to lakshmi’s house and Manju’s to meet their families and have lunch. I need now to go set up my “kitchen” to begin cooking, and hope to get all this done by next week, before my friend Ravin, from Chennai, arrives for 3 days. It will be nice seeing him after 5 years.

I also will be hanging up my flyers to teach and do treatments over the next few days…life moves along. I am feeling wonderful, weather is still glorious after a couple of cold days last week, and I will just enjoy each day as it comes.

I have moved from folkdancing music, to classical…with a two day break for the Hasidi I mentioned. Interesting how different moods call for different music.

I got back to my room, thinking to write and eat and rest, but before I did, Sara came up and said she had a trouble getting a train ticket, so I took her down and helped her out making the arrangements for her to leave for Dharamsala tomorrow. Then back to order my dinner, and it was already quite late in the evening and I was very hungry. Shweta came down to speak to me and we decided when I finished eating, she would come up for a Tarot reading. By the time I got up to my room it was after 9. Another lovely and late night with friends….First Sara came up and we chatted again for awhile. Then Shweta came with Arjun for her Tarot reading, which was quite amazing, as usual. She was here until after 11 at which time Einat came up with a lovely story to tell me, and we also sat for quite some time. By the time she left it was again after 12…I read and happily went to sleep, tired but pleasantly relaxed and very happy.

Will end here for today. Would love to get some comments from people…are you enjoying? Are the pics nice? Or is this just boring after reading so many years worth of my journeys? Just curious.

Namaste
Jane

Leave a Reply

