December 25, 2009 – Xmas in Rishikesh and the Blessings of Service

December 25, 2009 – Xmas in Rishikesh and the Blessings of Service

I always find it funny to be in Rishikesh and see Xmas being celebrated…schools are closed as this is one holiday which is celebrated by all of India. But it wasn’t until this year that I found out there is a Christian community in Rishikesh, and they are not well tolerated. Seems Lalita, the lady who opened the new restaurant and was born in Varanassi, is a Catholic, as is her husband. And right here in Tapovan is a Church which I never knew was a Church. The small community was allowed to build the church on the condition that there would be no outward signs that it was a church, so it is a nice building on the road down to Laxshman Jhula, just across from the leper colony down from Red Chili Internet , but you would not know what it is by passing by. I always thought that India was very tolerant of all religions so this surprised me. Lalita said that Rishikesh is the only place there is a problem, as it is an extremely religious Hindu city and the tolerance level is very low. But she is throwing a big xmas party in her restaurant today including a Xmas tree and no one will bother her as it is “business” and there is full tolerance for businesses earning as much money as they can!
A funny thing happened when I went into the grocery store this morning. A man was shopping and he dropped a large bar of Toblerone chocolate and it fell right on my foot. He apologized and picked it up, and then handed it to me, saying it was apparently mine and wishing me a Merry Xmas. Under normal circumstances I would have considered this a great surprise to enjoy, but I will not eat it and so gave it to Devi, Lakshmi and Dr. ARora to enjoy and they were ever so happy!
When I came into the restaurant for my breakfast, I found this walking stick on the table.

I know you never comment on my blog, but this time I’d like to know what YOU think it is doing there, before telling you the story. So just go to the bottom of the post and comment on why you think there is a walking stick on the table. In a couple of days I will tell the full story.
The weather is really beautiful today, after 2 very cold days and nights, it has gotten a little warmer, but the room is really cold now and so I need my heater for more hours. The high temperature of the day lasts from about 11-4, but even when sitting in the sun now I need a couple of layers of clothing…but the warming heat of the sun penetrates deep into my bones and is truly healing. Every day now, when I finish my treatments at the clinic, I sit outside with dr. arora on his front “terrace”, soaking up the sun’s warmth and watching life go by on this very busy corner. One day I will come down here with my camera and take a video to show you….it is so interesting and diverse that I could literally sit here for hours and not be bored!
And just by the way, although I haven’t mentioned it until now, I do at least one short healing a day, sometimes more, on people I meet, using a new technique I learned, and it brings quite amazing results. I also have met a couple of sweet girls who I am working with, mainly just talking, but the healing is mutually received and quite lovely. It is a true blessing to have these people sent to me as I am never happier or more content then when serving others. I am truly blessed

Namaste
Jane

7 Responses to December 25, 2009 – Xmas in Rishikesh and the Blessings of Service

  1. Dany K says:

    i believe the walking stick on the table is a form of table-reservation by an old man!

    I am also looking for a church to go to in Rishikesh and thanks for your blog. Now, I will walk down the place you mention and be a regular visitor whle I am based here in Rishikesh. God bless.

  2. Jane says:

    cute reply! actually, the stick was to keep monkeys away…the table is outside on the terrace and monkeys were always there. the stick kept them from jumping onto the table!
    And the church is just down the road from this restaurant. Glad I mentioned it and glad it helped you.
    With love light and JOY
    Jane

  3. cath says:

    Just read your blog and now on Christmas Day 2010 I will try and find the church. Thank you

  4. Jane says:

    Hope; you found it. It was full this morning when I went past. If you are in Rishikesh, look me up at New Bhandari Swiss Cottage. Any day before 10:30 in the morning and evenings after 6 I am for sure there. My phone is not working yet or I would give you my number to call.
    Hope to meet you
    Namaste and Merry Xmas
    Jane

  5. Auni says:

    Hey! Did you attend the Christmas party in this church?? If yes, pls tell how was it…was it a dance party ?? what kinda crowd was there mostly indians or non-indians??
    Also tell me the best place for New Year Eve where you dont find many Indians and which not very costly as well…
    Namaste ….

  6. Novi says:

    Hi Jane. I read your diary about catholic church at rishikesh. My name is novi.
    Next year i plan to go to rishikesh for my yoga teacher training. I also search where catholic church i can go at sunday mass.
    Do u know an information about it like what hours the mass and the person i can contact.
    Any suggestion 4 me bcz it will be my 1st time to go india.
    Regards
    Novi

    • Jane says:

      Hi Novi
      I don’t have any further details but the church is located on Tapovan on the way down to Laxman jhula, before the big Temple on the left. It is across from the divine resort hotel. If you are walking downhill from Tapovan, it is on the left, set off the street. There is no outward sign that it is a church, but there are people there every Sunday. I will be in Rishikesh January-March. When will you be there. You can also ask people where Red Chili tour agents are and ask them. It is down the hill from them on the opposite side of the street. Hope this helps. If you stay up at Swiss cottage enclave, you will be close. Hope this helps

Leave a Reply

