Thoughts from Books

Thoughts from a book I read a couple of months ago: In the Shadow of Crows, David Charles Manners (a true story and book I would urge everyone to make an effort to read-check out the website sarva.org.uk for more information)

p. 25: I understood that although the facts remained immovable, the past was done. My future did not need to be forever a reaction to it. A new and different life was waiting to be lived. All I had to do was to make a choice.

p. 284: Qualities to strive for: tolerance, self-discipline, generosity and patience, contemplation and honesty, dedicated intention and knowledge.

…and from something else I read: absence of fear is not something you feel, but something you don’t.

2 Responses to Thoughts from Books

  1. David Manners says:

    Dear Jane,
    I am very touched that you found words of worth in ‘Crows’. Thank you also for the kind recommendation you have afforded the book on your blog. It is hearteneing to know that the wisdom of Bindra’s life is being shared.
    In gratitude,
    David.

  2. Jane says:

    I am most humbled that YOU would not only find this blog entry, but comment on it. I have written (not on my blog) to over 50 people giving more details of the book and encouraging them to check your website and BUY the book at least…not borrow it as some have asked of me. And there were many many more “words of worth” in your book…understand that in the past 3 months I have read 12 books…this is the only one which prompted me to do something after I finished reading it.
    Love light and joy
    Jane

Leave a Reply

