Just Another Day in Rishikesh – A Day for Animal Adventures

Just Another Day in Rishikesh – A Day for Animal Adventures

I don’t usually manage to get pictures of the birds who frequent the rooftop here, but I did have luck this morning…this crow, shortly afterwards, actually grabbed hold of a metal serving dish containing butter which was on the breakfast table of my next door neighbor, and flew off with it!

Shortly after, I heard a commotion on the rooftop including banging on my door, and went to look and see what was going on. Good thing I did. I always leave my shoes outside of my room and have never had a problem. This morning, I saw two dogs, playing with each other, chasing each other, and each had one of my shoes it his mouth!! I quickly opened my door and retrieved my shoes. Good thing I was home when this happened. My shoes now are kept right INSIDE my door!!
And then I went down for breakfast, and after finishing my meal, was sitting at the table with the newspaper wide open, covering the empty dish. I was concentrating on something I was reading and all of a sudden felt like I was being watched. Looked up, and sitting right opposite me at the table was a monkey! Staring at me…not moving…I began chasing it but it didn’t move and so finally I began to move back with my chair and calling the guys from the kitchen. As they ran out, the monkey sensed its opportunity and quickly grabbed the entire sugar bowl from under the newspaper and ran off with it, the guys chasing it! It was really funny to see. The waiter told me that 2 weeks ago they had 6 sugar bowls, this morning they had one, and now they have none!!

This is India!!

Leave a Reply

