October 14-15, 2012 – Panchakarma Day 1 and 2

October 14-15, 2012 – Panchakarma Day 1 and 2

What a glorious day.  Began panchakarma this morning. Breakfast of course is porridge, which I like to add nuts and raisins to, and of course plenty of ghee.  Eating it overlooking the Ganga from Lalita’s Mama Mia restaurant….what a perfect day to begin.

Notice the difference in the color of the water-Previous shot taken during the winter season when the glacial snows begin melting

And then of course my first, long awaited massage for this year, and it was just as heavenly as I remembered and expected it to be.  Both Devi and Laxmi worked on me and it could not have been any more perfect.  And for the first time in many years, I am not doing this during the freezing cold winter months.  So I did not need 3 blankets, hot water bottles etc., to keep me warm during the massage, and did not feel the icy air each time another naked body part was exposed to be massaged with oil.   It was pure delight being in a warm space for this luxurious treatment.

Laxmi-Massage Therapist

Following the massage, back downstairs to hear what tomorrow holds in store (massage and sirrohdhara –warm oil drip on forehead), and my first medicated ghee of the panchakarma.  I usually am given a small amount on a teaspoon.  Horrible, but tolerable.  This time, Devi appeared with a heaping TABLESPOON.  I was sure it was either a mistake or a bad joke, but Doc looks at me and nods for me to take it.  Disgusting and truly barely tolerable.  When I asked why – “Your body in very weak state.  We need to get you well”. I guess every treatment has its own sort of unpleasant medicine .  this was definitely mine here.  We were given some herbs to begin taking twice a day to stimulate digestion and sent on our way.

I was also told I could eat FOUR chapattis at a meal, instead of the usual two-maybe three.  But I couldn’t eat four even if I tried.  We went back to the restaurant for lunch, nice veggie plate and chapattis, on which I put lots of ghee.  I felt full and satisfied, but getting extremely tired by then.  My friend who has agreed I call her here by her full name, Michal, thought we would go down for some more shopping and I needed stuff in Laxman Jhula so I agreed to “see how we feel”, but kind of knew it wouldn’t happen. She also began to feel the effects and the truth is, we barely made it up to the room and into bed where I just slept like a baby for quite some time.

Awoke with a very slight headache, which from experience gets worse for the first 4 days before going away…Part of the toxins beginning to release from my body.  This evening we have kicheri which Laxmi prepared for us and they have agreed to refrigerate it and then heat it up for us here at the Swiss Cottage kitchen, so all is well.

I am eating some lovely grapes at the moment and I am content-and truly blessed.

Just a quick summary of the evening and today (the next day).  Our kitcheri in the evening was really delicious (it is not always well prepared…sometimes very watery but this was really good), and I went to sleep early after reading for awhile.

This morning was day 2.  I awoke very early, did my meditation and yoga outside which was beautiful, and then was very hungry so I went down to breakfast alone.  Had delicious wheat porridge today (Michal arrived awhile later) and then went over for my second day.  Long talk with Doctor about his sons etc.  His eldest is married and after leaving his job as manager of a 5 star hotel in Gurgaon outside of Delhi, he is now on “vacation” and living with his wife in his parents home (which is typical for Indian families…wives always come to live with their mother-in-laws).  And when I asked about the second son, if it isn’t time they also arranged a marriage for him, he answered “yes for sure”.  Seems they are now looking to find a girl who has just completely her medical studies so that there will be someone in the family to run the clinic when he retires!  His son teaches yoga, meditation, and is a massage therapist, so it would work beautifully.

Meditating Along the Ganga

And then up to my treatment.  Today, to my great surprise, I was treated by THREE people.  Seems the daughter-in-law is now being trained to be a message therapist also, so they let her “practice” on clients while one of the others watches her, and then, after apologizing to me, the other massage therapist “redid” whatever part the other one was practicing on.  All in all it was lovely and not annoying in any way.

And then my sirrohdhara drip (which most people love but I don’t) and then, covered in oil, had a wonderful hot bucket shower at the clinic.

And then I remembered that I hadn’t asked the doctor if I can have my glass of hot milk with turmeric once a day.  He said of course.  When I asked what is better, morning or evening…he said “why not both!!!”.   And on top of that, told me to have a couple of biscuits with the milk!  Pure luxury during panchakarma.  Of course I got another tablespoon of medicated ghee, but with the thought of all the lovely ghee on my chapattis and veggies, and then a glass of hot spiced milk and biscuits, I left overjoyed.

And to make the day even more perfect, I met my friend Reingard, by surprise, at the clinic.  IT was sooooooo good to see her after several years when we did not meet up here.  And she will begin her panchakarma next Monday so we will see each other each day.  Life is good!

I was feeling really good, had my delicious lunch again and then down to do a couple of errands in Laxman Jhula, sit overlooking Laxman Jhula bridge at the German Bakery with a glass of fresh pineapple juice and then back up to the guesthouse.  A long but lovely day, and not tired as I was yesterday.  Feeling really good.  And loving this mobile stick in my room!!

Promise to begin photographing more as the days go by…hope you enjoy the few from today.  (One of the Ganga Views is from last year-it is at a different time of the year – winter when the ice begins to melt in the high glaciers), and you can see a difference in the color of the water.  Interesting.

Namaste

Jane

One Response to October 14-15, 2012 – Panchakarma Day 1 and 2

  1. Lena says:

    Rishikesh looks as beautiful as ever!!! And SO sunny! I’m reading with tears in my eyes I miss it so much))
    But I also feel happy about you and your treatment. Enjoy (before all the “bad” things start : D )

Leave a Reply

