Things are Falling Into Place – Day 3 Panchakarma October 16, 2012

Things are Falling Into Place – Day 3 Panchakarma October 16, 2012

Navrati Festival – See Below for more Info

Ganga View from Cafe Delmar

It is now 6:30 in the evening and I am happily sitting out on my rooftop terrace, enjoying the still comfortable evening air.  Soon it will be much to cold at this time of the day to sit outdoors.  Even now I am wearing jeans, woolen sox and my warm shawl, but am comfortable and feeling blessed.

I have already eaten my kitcheri for supper and later, before going to sleep, will have my wonderful hot spiced milk and biscuits.  But I now bought myself good, wholesome organic oatmeal cookies…much more expensive than the “biscuits” the doctor recommended – plain cookies made from flour oil and lots of sugar and additives.  Those were 5 rupees a packet, the ones I bought were 120 rupees a packet!!  But I will feel much better eating a couple of those with my milk. :-

I cannot believe what I did today!.  After my treatment,  which was lovely- massage and navi basti (hot oil bath on navel area – a kind of bowl is formed out of chickpea flour which is made into a kind of clay, and then placed over the area to be treated, and hot medicated oils are poured in and left to do their magic on the chosen part of the body).

Then I was told that Manju, the doctor’s wife would be arriving.  She is one of the sweetest women I have ever met, a wonderful cook who I learned much from regarding Indian cooking, and a dear friend.  So I waited for her and was so happy to see her when she finally arrived.  I will be going, together with my friend Michal, to visit her one afternoon in the coming days, and to enjoy some of her wonderful cooking (whatever I can while doing panchakarma) and of course her lovely company.

And then I decided to have pulao, something I am allowed every few days instead of vegetables and chapatti, but was by then too tired to go all the way down to where I had intended to eat.  So I decided to go to a nearby place and see if their pulao was any good (it wasn’t).  But it is the lovely place along the Ganga which I so enjoy, which changed hands but is still in a beautiful setting  overlooking the Ganga PHOTO

….and then, cannot believe what I did! I walked full force into a plate glass entrance door to the restaurant- which I absolutely did not see! Strong enough to draw blood from my mouth and nose and raise a huge bump on my forhead!!

Thank God for Rescue Cream and Reiki!!

By the time the meal arrived, the bleeding had stopped and the swelling was down.  I continued with Reiki and Rescue for a time after the meal.  When I got back to my room there was still some slight swelling on my upper lip and forehead…did more Reiki while napping and now it is fine. There is still some slight pain but nothing compared to what I felt when hitting the glass!  I almost fainted.  Now I understand the expression “seeing stars”!!

The restaurant itself is lovely.  Still called Café Delmar, but with a Beatles, 60’s theme about it.  It offers many Vegan options – a first here in Rishikesh and there was even classical music playing in the background when I arrived.

AND….they have free WIFI!!!!!!!

Began taking a few odd photos today and will try and post several each day if something worthwhile comes out.

Will relax the rest of the evening, go to sleep early, and hopefully be awake for another lovely sunset tomorrow.

Below, if you are interested, is some information regarding the significance of the 9 Day Navrati Festival now being celebrated in India, and bringin many local tourists to town as well. 

Mahanavaratri , nine night Goddess festival started today and ends on 24 October with Vijayadashami.

Navratri is divided into sets of three days to adore three different aspects of the supreme goddess.

First three days
These initial days

are dedicated to Durga Maa, the Goddess of power, energy and transformation, also known as Kali in order to destroy all our impurities and negativity. These three days the devotees meditate on the fire aspect of Goddess and purified their Sanskaras , the conditioning of old vicious habits etc.

Second three days
When the impurities are removed then the pure spiritual wealth is bestows by Lakshmi, the goddess of abundance. These three days the devotees meditate on the soft and soma qualities of Goddess to experience love and compassion as his inherent pure quality.
.
Final three days
Once the aspirant succeeds observing the evil propensities, and develops Sattwic or pure, divine qualities and then only he can receives the light of supreme wisdom by the grace of mother Saraswati..The final set of three days is spent in meditating on the goddess of wisdom, Saraswati..

The tenth day, Vijaya Dasami is the celebration of liberation of the soul, the victory, the achievement of goal of all goals.
These nine nights are designed for our spiritual evolution. It also falls on very special planetary situation, twice a year, the beginning of summer and the beginning of winter on a very auspicious day.

Namaste and Blessings from the Goddesses to all

Jane

2 Responses to Things are Falling Into Place – Day 3 Panchakarma October 16, 2012

  1. Hope you are feeling better after that nasty bump into the glass door, Jane! that must have been terrible.

    Can’t believe it’s Navratri already! What a wonderful time to be in India:) enjoying your posts and pictures! Love Peri.

    • Jane says:

      Hi Peri….I am fine. Did lots of Reiki and all is well. Yes, it IS a beautiful time of the year. I can feel the changing of the seasons as well. Glad you are enjoying…hope the photos will get better as time goes on. Thanks for all your likes!! 🙂
      much love
      Jane

Leave a Reply

