Butterflies and Panchakarma Day 5 – October 18 2012

Butterflies and Panchakarma Day 5 – October 18 2012

Someone pulled the plug!

Today I feel like I am doing panchakarma….like someone whose batteries have run out or like an appliance whose electric cord has been unplugged

But blessings still come my way, even if it is only during a walk back up the mountain to my room after my treatment and lunch

There are butterflies everywhere

the weather is wonderful

1:30 in the afternoon in Tapovan Rishikesh

nothing can compare with the fruit salad served at the New Bhandari Swiss Cottage containing, papaypa, pineapples, apple, banana, nectarines, pomegranates and watermelon

and the view of the mountains brings joy to my soul each time I sit here on my rooftop looking at it

The treatment today was in place of Vamana (vomiting or purging of the upper body of mucous, phlegm etc).  Since I began my treatments in a very weakened state this year, the doctor felt that Vamana would be too enervating and exhausting for my body.  So a milder, gentler form of treatment was done today, and again tomorrow, bringing about the same results supposedly. I was told it would be a hot chest pack

My chest area was wrapped and bound in several layers of a soft fabric which was dipped first in very hot water.  And then I was covered with a sheet.  After a couple of minutes I felt uncomfortably cold and called the girls…who put more hot water on it but it seemed like a really ridiculous kind of treatment and I was getting annoyed.  Then Devi came in again when I called and covered me with several warm blankets, but very shortly afterwards I became very cold again.  So she came in and sat there just pouring hot water continually over me.  And then it was over.

I went down to talk to the doctor about it but he was busy, so left to go for lunch.  And all of a sudden, while eating, I felt like someone “pulled the plug” on me and finished eating and came straight back to my room where I have been sleeping since

I will have to get a full explanation of this from the doctor.  I don’t know if it is from the treatment, or just the panchakarma in general which is making me feel so exhausted, but when I find out, you will too

I met my dear friend Lalita today and haven’t seen her in a couple of years so very nice seeing her again, and once again, there were also some nice kids at the restaurant who I had an interesting conversation with, both about ayurvedic medicine and Indian food.  Quite nice…too bad I had to leave to get back to my room.

Tonight is an Indian Classical Music concert right here, and hope I will feel up to going.  I love tabla and flute and can listen to it for hours, and there is NOTHING like hearing it live.  It moves me on all levels to unknown realms of joy and tranquility

Namaste from Rishikesh

Jane

Leave a Reply

