Most Fun Panchakarma Ever! – Days 7-8 Panchakarma October 20-12 2012

Most Fun Panchakarma Ever! – Days 7-8 Panchakarma October 20-12 2012

Oct. 20- Full, Fun Day with Lots of Good Food

Just Enjoying the View

Came down for breakfast this morning only to find the cook in the shower! The shower is actually in the same bathroom which is on the  balcony that we love to have our breakfast on each morning.  The helpers were all upset because  a customer arrive and there was no one available to cook for her. So they yelled something into the shower, probably telling him to hurry up etc.  But I was in no hurry and it sounded like he was really enjoying his shower. (bucket showers make lots of noise). So I also yelled into the shower, “don’t worry…no problem…enjoy shower!”

So now I sit and listen to Lucky (the cooks name) taking a long, leisurely shower, every so often sighing in pleasure as he pours water over himself.  And I myself sigh with pleasure as I enjoy my Ganga View.

During these holy festival days there are many people already bathing in the Ganga at this early hour.

Bathing In the Ganga during Navrati Festival

There is always something to see wherever you are, and whatever you are doing.  Being Mindful of your surroundings brings great joy and pleasure into what would  otherwise be a boring day.

Had my treatment today which consisted of massage and Natri Basti (warm medicated ghee poured over the eyes which are cupped in the same “bowl” used for other types of basti on various body parts.)  The ghee of dripped out of the sides of the bowl and so I had to of course take a shower and wash my hair.

I knew I would be out for a long day of fun and shopping with Michal, so decided to eat my kitcheri at the clinic before heading out.  And then, to my great surprise, the doctors wife came in with aloo parantha for everyone for lunch and the doctor offered me one.  I said I would love one but my doctor doesn’t allow it during panchakarma.  He said  “it is ok, for you ok…have have”.  So I DID have and it was of course great.  This is the most fun panchakarma I’ve ever done!!

Michal and I then had  full day of shopping, errands, post office, more shopping, a wait at Prem’s Namaste restaurant overlooking the Ganga once again (You can find photos of this lovely place from a post from last year when the silk cotton tree was blooming…exquisitely beautiful. ) https://janesindiajournals.wordpress.com/2011/03/09/march-9-2011-%E2%80%93-vacation-day-7-8-%E2%80%93-paying-the-price/

Fabulous Kashmiri Pulao full of raisins, cashews, pineapple, coconut , cloves, cardamon etc., etc., etc….Just superb!

Took her to Prateek the astrologer…it was beyond amazing and he has given her much needed food for thought.  She was quite happy when we left.

Oct. 21, 2012

Today had massage and sirrohdhara, ate my kitcheri and had a long soul searching discussion with Dr. Arora about the difficult health issues I’ve had this past year and their possible (probable ) causes…also giving me some definite food for thought.  I had a sleepless night last night – my mind has begun racing, which very often happens as cleansing deepens during the treatments….so he has helped me put some things into perspective which was well needed.

Had a good nap and am now eating my fruit salad as I write this up.  Look forward to a pleasant and quiet evening…perhaps a movie for the first time.

I know this has been a fairly boring post but I guarantee you that nothing is boring about my wonderful days here which are going by much too quickly for my liking.

Namaste from Rishikesh

Jane

7 Responses to Most Fun Panchakarma Ever! – Days 7-8 Panchakarma October 20-12 2012

  1. Lena says:

    Jane, it IS NOT boring!! Enjoying every word you write. Keep posing!!! Please….))

  2. Nafees says:

    first pic is awesome 🙂

  3. I agree – NOT boring at all! Much love to you xx

Leave a Reply

