The Paradise that is Rishikesh-October 24-26 –Some Catching Up –Panchakarma Days 11-13

The Paradise that is Rishikesh

[As I sit getting ready to post this,  there is an amazing desplay of color in the sky as I look out the window-it almost looks like the heavens are on fire! Notice the moon rising as well….(sorry about the wires,  but they are part of the “scenery”)…so this post will also have a gallery of shots taken over about a half hour period.  Hope you enjoy it here as much as I enjoyed it live!]

Panchakarma wise, there is nothing much to write about the last couple of days,,,just massage and sirrohdhara and massage and steam. And I was feeling really good and decided to take full advantage of these last two days of the easy stuff, so the next posts will be about those two lovely days I spent out and about and truly enjoying the paradise that is Rishikesh.

I look forward to posting some lovely photos, which I haven’t even looked at myself yet, and hopefully this will happen over the next couple of days. Today begins the harder portion of panchakarma, which leaves me with the feeling that I need to just rest in and around my room most of the day.

So I read, watch movies, write, do certain projects I may have committed myself to (making a new collage of my grandchildren, copy editing Dr.Arora’s new website), visiting with my friends near home and just relaxing. It is a good time for contemplation, or for just doing nothing.

SOMETIMES DOING NOTHING IS SOMETIMES DOING SOMETHING VERY IMPORTANT

You can read more about this idea and its importance in our lives at this post:

http://notinindia2012.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/doing-nothing-is-doing-something-very-important/

Yesterday I ate the best pullao I have had since coming to Rishikesh.

best pullao in Rishikesh at Flavor’s Restaurant, Ram Jhula

Ate it at the lovely Indian restaurant, Flavors, following my long stroll along the ghats on both banks of Ram Jhula. It was full of wonderful herbs, fruits, nuts and veggies and the seasoning was just perfect. It was moist, not dry as many are…just heaven. The photo does not do it justice.!

I am now resting in my room and will shortly eat my wonderful paneer parantha prepared by Manju, the Doc’s wife, and a necessary precursor to the oil enemas, which I do in my room. It is one of the best parts of panchakarma (the parantha-not the….:-) ) . And today I plan to watch the movie, Intouchables, which came extremely highly recommended, and will probably begin watching lots of movies over the next 12 days as well. And that’s about it for today.

Namaste from Rishikesh

Jane

7 Responses to The Paradise that is Rishikesh-October 24-26 –Some Catching Up –Panchakarma Days 11-13

  1. Nafees says:

    mmmmmmmmmm Indian foods tasty but spicy 🙂

  2. Jane says:

    yes it is for sure. No comparison between the two!!

  3. Lena says:

    This pulao looks so delicious! Where exactly is the restaurant? As far as it is possible to be exact about locations in Rishikesh)))

  4. Lena says:

    And I can’t quite agree about biriyani, at least as far as Keralan biriyani is concerned….In Nothern India it’s usually different.

Leave a Reply

