January 6, 2011 – Food for Thought, Understanding Loss Further and Cleaning Day

January 6, 2011

January 6, 2011 – Food for Thought, Understanding Loss Further and Cleaning Day

Nice and Clean

I am reading a book right now “The Active Side of Infinity “ by Carlos Cataneda.  It is not a novel perse, but more an autobiography of his years as an apprentice to the shaman Don Juan.  There are fascinating insights into the workings of the human mind in this book…not an easy book to reade as it holds up a very real mirror, not quite complimentary, for us to look in.

One quote which struck me this morning, I’d like to share with you:

“…it is our cognition, which is in essence an interpretation system, that curtails our resources. Our interpretation system is what tells us what the parameters of our possibilities are, and since we have been using that system of interpretation all ourlives, we cnnot possibly dare to go against its dictums”…pp. 199

Think about it…powerful stuff!!

For me, today was cleaning day, and I always feel good about everything being back to clean and sparkling in my room.  It works on more than the physical level, believe me.  It is still quite chilly but the sun is shining and I am enjoying the rooftop immensely after my day out and about at the market and friends yesterday.

Nothing further today…am taking a day off from “others”…and going deep inside.  If you are interested, you can see the post on my other blog dealing with my “work” which I began today entitled: “Understanding Loss – Part 3 – An Exercise in Remembering, Forgiving and Release”  at this link:

http://mindfulnessjournal.wordpress.com/2011/01/06/understanding-loss-%E2%80%93-part-3-%E2%80%93-an-exercise-in-remembering-forgiving-and-release/

Namaste

Jane